General Hospital

Soap Stars Win Big At Sean Kanan-Hosted The Indie Series Awards

Sean KananSean Kanan

Alumni of The Bold and the Beautiful, General Hospital, and Days of our Lives scored big at the 11th Annual Indie Series Awards, which was hosted earlier this month by Sean Kanan (ex-Deacon).

Sean Kanan Hosts The Indie Series Awards

The actor took home two statues for Best Lead Actor in a Drama and Best Writing – Drama, which he shares with Michele Kanan and Lauren de Normadie, for his work on Studio City. But those weren’t the Web series only awards.

Patrika Darbo (ex-Shirley) tied for Best Supporting Actress Drama for her role in Studio City, which she shares with her Studio City co-star Carolyn Hennesy (Diane, General Hospital).

Veteran soap star Sean Kanan, who played Deacon Sharpe on both The Young and the Restless and The Bold and the Beautiful, as well as AJ Quartermaine on General Hospital, hosted the 11th Annual Indie Series Awards earlier this month.

The soap hopper’s series, Studio City, which has a home on Amazon Prime, brought home four awards while the second season of After Forever, which stars Kevin Spirtas (ex-Craig, Days of our Lives), brought home three.

Alex Wyse (ex-Saul, BB) won two ISAs — Best Actor Comedy for his role on Indoor Boys; he also shared the Best Directing Comedy for Indoor Boys with Wesley Taylor. The actor was last seen on the soap back in 2018.

The ISAs celebrate the best in independently produced scripted entertainment created for the Web. Here’s a link to a complete list of winners.

Originally titled the Indie Soap Awards, the show changed its name to the Indie Series Awards to broaden its scope and include series that are not necessarily serialized. The awards used to be given out at a ceremony in New York, but then later moved to Los Angeles. Due to the pandemic, it had to be held virtually.

Subscribe Now

Get spoilers, news and recaps in your inbox daily.

Subscribe Now

Get spoilers, news and recaps in your inbox daily.